The Alabama Chess Federation (ACF) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation and the United States Chess Federation affiliate for the state of Alabama. Our goal is to promote chess in this area for the benefit of all Alabama players. Toward that end, we provide advertising and other assistance for rated tournaments, as well as support for scholastic chess programs around the state. Bylaws and other significant ACF documents are available in our online archive.

Elected Officers & Delegate


President:Neil Dietschneil.dietsch@alabamachess.org
Vice-President:David Hayesdahleet@gmail.com
Secretary:Paul Mulqueen, PhDpaul.mulqueen@alabamachess.org
Treasurer:Paul Nagerpaul.nager@austalusa.com
Scholastic VP (state scholastic championship organizer):Balagee Govindanbalagee.govindan@alabamachess.org
Director - Public Relations & USCF Alt. Delegate:Michael Ciamarraalabamachess@gmail.com
Education VP:Neil Dietschneil.dietsch@alabamachess.org
USCF Delegate:Gerald Larson, PhDglarson@knology.net

ACF Staff / Volunteers

Antics Editor:NM Scott VaragonaAlabama.Chess.Editor@gmail.com
Membership Administrator:Jonathan Rasberryrazz.2014@yahoo.com
Tournament Reports & Calendar Editor:Caesar Lawrencecaesarchess@gmail.com
Web Content Manager:Neil Dietschneil.dietsch@alabamachess.org
Webmaster: David Hayesdahleet@gmail.com

Board Subcommittees

Audit (ACF & CIS LLC):Paul Maqueen, David Hayes
Information Technology:Neil Dietsch, Balagee Govindan, David Hayes
Social Media [Facebook]:Michael Ciamarra, Mike Lawson

Chess in Schools LLC

Chess in Schools is a single member LLC reporting to the ACF Executive Board. It manages the Alabama Chess in Schools Initiative in partnership with the Alabama State Department of Education.

Managing Director:Neil Dietsch
National Chess Education Consultant:Jerry Nash
Operations Manager, Education Consultant:Nancy Johnson
Financial Officer:Paul Nager

ACF Membership Information:

Any individual may become a Regular Member upon the payment of annual dues of $15.00. Regular Members may receive special publications or notices from ACF as they are issued. Any individual registered in kindergarten through the twelfth grade of a school located in the State of Alabama may become a non-voting Scholastic Member by payment of annual dues of $15.00. Scholastic Members may receive special student publications or notices from ACF as they are issued. Any organized group of chess players may become an Affiliate upon the payment of annual dues of $35.00 and the filing of an Affiliate Information Form with the Secretary of ACF.

Click "Membership / Join ACF" in the left menu.